An Overdue Introduction

WildGPS

Hello ‘Long Dark’ers! I am relatively new to the game but TLD has quickly become my go-to game. I got the game after Resolute Outfitter came out, so this next update will be my first. Just this week I finally achieved my last badge (fire-starter took FOREVER!) and may have made a mistake when I convinced my wife to play too. Five saved sandboxes goes pretty quick between two people…

A brief overview of my background for anyone who is interested. I just got married in January to a wonderful woman who never hassles me when I spend all weekend in front of the Xbox pretending to walk around in the snow. During the week, I teach Corporate Social Responsibility to undergrads in the great state of Colorado. This week is finals week and I have more grading than I want to think about, so my characters have been sadly neglected (and why I am procrastinating and writing this…).  Next week, however, I plan on being entirely unproductive!

When I’m not molding the minds of today’s youth or running away from wolves in Coastal Highway, I try to keep active.  I am an avid backpacker and have done a handful of multi-week thru-hikes out West (WildGPS is my trail name).  I try to get my butt outside to go run at least 3 or 4 times a week, and sometimes I succeed! I used to go rock climbing more than I do now, but find myself quoting Lethal Weapon’s Murtaugh too often whenever I take a whipper. By the way, yes, 34 is too old for that sh…

Anyway, I am grateful that Hinterland’s forum is both active and respectful.  Everyone seems genuinely nice and authentically passionate about this game.  It is a welcome treat whenever a developer chimes in from time to time as well.  They have done a great job so far, and I am looking forward to Faithful Cartographer and WINTERMUTE!

Welcome to the Hinterland Community @WildGPS. Glad to see you here.

4 hours ago, WildGPS said:

I am grateful that Hinterland’s forum is both active and respectful.