99% Death Rate to Wolves on Interloper 4 me

KD7BCH

I'm relatively new to TLD but I name all of my sandbox games after my learnings and experiences from the previous game (except the first one, of course).

My first was called "Don't hurt me". Then came "Not in the face" after my first wolf encounter and resulting demise. Then "Feed me" after I starved to death in the Trapper's Cabin. Next up were the short-lived, "Wolf dodging" and "No, not more wolves". I'm currently on "B*stard wolves" and I seem to have mostly mastered the art of avoiding them in areas I know well. Still, I have too many run-ins (i.e., more than none) when exploring but, as long as I keep myself in good condition and don't exhaust myself in danger-zones, I seem to be surviving the encounters better. I know I'm not ready for interloper (or stalker, for that matter) yet, but I'm getting there.

For me, they are the main contributor to the pensive atmosphere of the game. They are the one thing (well, apart from the odd bear) that stands between me and survival. Weather, food and water are relatively easy to manage if I plan ahead; the wolves are the spanners in the workings of my plans. They're the uncertainty. The thrill.

I curse them almost daily, but they are what keeps the game interesting (for me). Even my forum avi pays tribute to their tenacity.

7 hours ago, selfless said:

Unlikely.  You are supposed to feel vulnerable.  That's interloper's shtik.

I've reached the point where the lack of resources, the climate, and the inability to out wit my status isn't what gets me anymore. It is almost always the wolves now. 

18 hours ago, KD7BCH said:

I've reached the point where the lack of resources, the climate, and the inability to out wit my status isn't what gets me anymore. It is almost always the wolves now. 

Congrats!  At least its challenging you.  "Dying of old age" is not compelling game play, IMO.