Will torches change next week?

Ruruwawa

Sprinkled in threads here and on other forums I keep seeing a claim that, after the Sandbox update next week, torches will no longer scare wildlife.  I'm a newbie and a terribad hunter, so I do rely on torches for hunting.  Also, despite the endurance cost, I do wave wolves off with torches when I don't need meat -- to conserve arrows and bullets.

So, is it true?  If yes, can you point me to the discussion about this issue?  I'd love to understand the intent of the change, as well as the intended impact on new players.  I've trying searching this and other forums and also Google, but I just can't spot it.

Thanks!

Nobody who isn't part of the Hinterland developer team already knows exactly what the next patch will bring. Everything you've read are thus most likely just speculations or wishes from other players. I would strongly advice you not to worry about potential changes that may never be implemented anyway. And even if it really becomes impossible to pull torches out of campfires, you'll still be able craft torches at workbenches with reclaimed wood, cloth and kerosine.

Regarding the intent.. well, currently you get a pretty safe anti-wolf-forcefield (lit torch) for the cost of only four sticks. Hence you can run around constantly with little danger of getting attacked. Much safety for almost no effort - that's kind of a problem gameplay-wise in my book. If creating torches required more resources, people would probably use them with more purpose and thought than atm. :winky:

Thanks for the reply Scyzara.  I've read a lot of your posts and respect your insights.

I've heard folks claim that flares will continue to be that "anti-wolf-forcefield" you mention but to me that has two problems.  First, only pre-disaster technology scares wolves, really?  I find that a bit immersion breaking.  Also, flares are a very finite resource so I prefer to conserve them as long as possible.