Feedback and... Arrows (another voice to the chorus)

Alexandre Lange

Hi, people.

Im new to TLD, but Im totaly addicted to it. I bought it at Jan 28th (2016), but I have already played 49 hours according to Steam. As usual (I think), I had a handful of intense death experiences before I found the survivor in me (or got lucky enough to gather the basic tools soon enough). Now I know: wrong choices really kill you; dont count on luck, 'maybe' is your worst enemy; I truly fear, and I avoid risks; I run away; and, sometimes, I feel brave enough to (or have no other option than) face the danger. I can feel every aspect of the survival struggle. The game is just amazing.

Now, about something that really sounds out of place in a game so carefuly crafted to give us the right feeling of the survival experience: forged arrowheads. I know the devs (successful) effort to make everything count, to make things rare/unique, but... this game is about basic needs and survival. Among the survival tools, the bow (improvised, called 'survival bow' for a reason) and a few 'simple arrows'. Force the player to forge arrowheads (in one single place in the game) to use a survival bow with simple arrows is immersion breaking for me. For improvised bow and arrows, any piece of sharp/piercing metal (saw), stone (hammer) or bone (hatchet) could serve as material to make an arrowhead. The woods for the bow and the arrow shafts are rare enough to make them properly precious, in my opinion.