Xbox One, basic newb questions re: fighting wolves

StealthMonkee55

I'm a Long Dark newb and am having issues fighting wolves (playing xbox one). I started out as a Voyguer but get killed by a wolf every time by day two. Can you even fight a wolf hand to hand? Do I mash the A button or R trigger when attacked? I've had a hunting knife, hatchet, crowbar and hammer but have not been able to figure out how to equip any of these tools as a weapon. I like that there is no "hand holding" in this game but have resorted to playing as a Pilgrim to really test the survival mechanics without getting killed and starting from scratch each time. I love :D the game so far but definitely need the fear factor that wild animals bring to the game to really enjoy it. Any suggestions especially from console players would be greatly appreciated. Thx

Hi, I am also on XB1, and love this game! I won't bore you with the old mechanics, they just changed recently. Now, it's all about spamming that A button. You don't need to do anything special to ready a weapon. When I hear the growling, and I know it's about to happen, I face the wolf and even get started spamming A before the wolf gets on me. I feel that if you have both the hatchet and knife, it uses the best one. Keep antibiotics around and bandages!