A Few Questions

Alice

Right well I'm a noob and I accept that.

1. Is it possible to survive forever??

2. Do different kinds of stoves burn longer than others?

3. Can you put flares out once you've lit them?

4. What's the best way to get a steady supply of food??

5. Is there any way to make more matches?

Much thanks!

1. In theory yes. Based on answer 4 and 5.

2. No

3. No

4. Rabbits, fish, and scavenging from wolves. My main long term diet is rabbits. I typically set ten traps per day. The only set back is the need of gut to make it. Maybe after 1000 days gut becomes more scarce, but otherwise pretty reliable. Only fire your rifle when about to die or when you get two carcases for one shot, ie. wolf killed deer. Eventually you will run out of bullets, but if your good at the melee mini game you could survive using plant combos to make medicine.

5. No, but there are alternatives to matches. Fire striker, and Magnifying glass.

5. No, but there are alternatives to matches. Fire striker, and Magnifying glass.

which decay with usage so ultimately you will die because of lack of fire and therefor lack of water. But if you would make say 100l of water per fire you can do the math yourself how long you'd survive. Eventually you'd run out of it but until you reach that point you've probably died a thousand deaths already for other reasons, not to mention the boredom that will make you throw yourself down the Ravine :D

• 1 month later...

Yeah, you can't last forever until they add a "rubbing sticks to make fire" mechanic. I really think the magnifying glass shouldn't decay like it does, though there should be a chance it will break if you get attacked by an animal or if you take a fall while you're carrying it.

I thought about trying to max out my water just to see how long I could survive, but it really seems too much like work.

I've recently started a fun challenge for myself and tried another approach - keep the very same fire burning infinitely.