Overall Lighting

Whenever I'm indoors and I light up a furnace or a fireplace it doesn't light the interior at all, it only lights up 1 foot from where the fire is at. The reason why it bothers me so much is because I have to light a match or a lantern just to be able to know where I am walking or what I'm trying to look for in the room. A torch lights up the room much better than a fireplace or a furnace. Also, I'd like to point out that the Trapper's Homestead lights up at night even when there isn't a fire inside.

• Upvote 3

Guest kristaok

I am no expert or anything, but I don't think fireplaces or wood stoves light up whole rooms in RL either, so this is pretty realistic. :P As for the Trappers Homestead lighting up at night, I heard that was a bug that just sort of stayed, but don't quote me on that. 

Guest kristaok

I just moved into my House irl not long ago it has a Fireplace, I won't really use it until Winter... so I cannot say I am an expert. :P Maybe there's a way to adjust the overall Game brightness? but I think they make it dark for Survival reasons. 

Fireplaces work this way irl. So I don't expect it to light up a large area. It also looks really cool. What pisses me off though are the lights during the aurora, if these lights were meant to light up the buildings when the power still worked, then I don't know how they expected to see. Because the light level and radius of the lights is SO low.

"...because I have to light a match or a lantern just to be able to know where I am..."

That´s my biggest issue with the game since the beginning :( It´s way too dark in some houses - even during daylight.

• Upvote 2