I still spend WAY too much time looking for my arrows

Pharose

I’ve been playing this game for many years and this is one issue that has brought lots of boredom and frustration to my previous survival games. I’m about 60 days into my cutom-interloper playthrough and I’m being reminded why I got bored and quit my previous stalker playthrough. After a while the challenges of not starving and not being eaten alive by wolves becomes more manageable but it gives way to another challenge: trying to figure out where those bloody wolves took my arrows.

It is the final act of spite by the dying bastards that once I plant an arrow in them they will run off into the great unknown to deposit the arrow in some obscure location, only to return to die in a nice obvious location where the crows and myself can easily locate their body. Sometimes the arrow will remain embedded in them until they die, which is much appreciated, but recently most of the wolves have managed to shake off theses arrows in mid-flight so that I have to spend hours looking for them.  Usually I will try to follow the wolves until they die but this is a rather costly endeavour in Interloper where I am perpetually freezing to death.

My most recent problem involves a pack of 3 wolves than descended upon my home in Milton. I shot all 3 of them with arrows and all 3 of them ran off with the arrows firmly embedded in their bodies while they bled to death. All 3 of them died in a tight area, not too far from where I shot them but I’m still missing all 3 arrows. I’ve harvested all of the corpses, which have now disappeared, but that did not reveal any arrows. I’ve spent about 20 minutes searching in frustration, but nothing has come up yet. It is an understatement to say that this is not fun, and I’d rather spend my time exploring Hushed River Valley and the rest of Great Bear Island.