Bored of Interloper? Try sleepwalking!

BareSkin

Hi everyone,

I've already exposed my views on the problems the gameplay has, that makes Interloper a bit easier than what was expected by Hinterland, in my opinion. It all boils down to whatever mistake you do, a good night of sleep on calories will fix it. That's not realistic, and that made my behave strangely (starving all day long, eating 750 calories before sleeping) and that was kind of an immersion-breaker to me.

So I started playing with Custom Settings a bit and ended up with the Sleepwalker modes. Harder than Interloper, easier than DeadMan. Sleeping won't heal anymore, but I discovered you're still encouraged to sleep long stretches by internal game mechanics. Playing it also showed that "Rest as a resource" is not that much relevant, as sleeping is an enemy. Hibernating becomes a viable solution only when at 100% health, in this case you're in a SW level that's too easy for your skills.

Now that I've tested this mode and am happy with it, I dare posting in a more general section of the forums, hoping some of you will give it a try. I'll continue reporting my Sleepwalker Level1 run in the "survival stories" sub-section, then I'll report my next run, a sleepwalker 4 there too, so feel free to use this thread for saying anything you want.

Just one last remark: the philosophy works with any difficulty (Pilgrim/Voyageur/Stalker): just take the corresponding template in Custom Settings, set "At Rest Condition Recovery Rate" to "None", and that's it, you'll have a sleepwalking mode.

image.thumb.png.ce98a842722d0689e242470d1bfd21f1.png

Good assumption for the roleplayers / immersion:

Before you end up alone in the wild, you had a loving family. You wonder if they are fine, if the catastrophe hit them or not, you worry a lot about your partner and kids.