Manual saves

peteloud

For me that ruins the point of the game, so I don't use it and can't understand what is the point of playing survival mode if you just  reload your saves

Edit: Of course you can do whatever you want, it's just my opinion ;P

Now, now. People bought the game and they're free to do what they want. Let's not turn this into a divisive thread (despite the potential!). The OP is asking a specific question and that isn't how you feel about the idea.

I only backup my Stalker saves before an update, and then only in case something goes wrong. I don't restore them if all is well afterwards. I don't typically play a high-risk game; quite conservative in my decisions and always opt for safety over speed or convenience.

So, no, I don't backup for the purpose the OP described.

I don't hunt for skills or achievements so I never backup. I used to do that when I just started playing the game, then I noticed it was ruining the fun for me so I stopped. Now I backup and restore saves only if I'm testing some bug, otherwise I play permadeath and I love it. ;)

After each longer session I make backups. This is not to cheat and restart, but glitches, falling out of maps, getting stuck or being killed by a random wall of death - these things do happen and if I consider that I was killed by a buggy game I will revert to the copy.

3 hours ago, peteloud said:

What percentage of players at Stalker and Interloper level manually backup their saves and restore them after being killed ?

I back my safe files up since the character reset bug was reported occuring since last patch. But i delete them once i die in a run! Cheating feels filthy and ruins the game for me!

I sync all of my data 3 times/week to 3 external drives but the thought of restoring one of my saves from these backups hadn't even occurred to me until reading this thread.

But no, I'm not going to fall into temptation. I'm going to play the game the way it was meant to be played.