What's in a name?

Carbon

Hey all.

I've always been fascinated by usernames; I wonder why people choose them, sometimes what they mean. There are some particularly interesting ones on the forum (looking at you to start @Ruruwawa) and thought it might be fun to provide some background.

For me, "Carbon": I first just like the sound of the word. It's a heck of an element as well and while I'm not a scientist by profession, I have a deep appreciation for elements so ubiquitous in the makeup of our universe. I've been using it for a while in the Unreal game community (shameless collection pic here: https://imgur.com/NzxbmzC) and decided to stick with it. My second choice was "Neutrino" because...who doesn't dig neutrinos?! :)

So guys, let's hear some background about your nicknames!

First, Carbon is a great name.  I'd be ok with that as a real life name tbh.

Ruruwawa?  Well let me reconstruct because I've been using this one for a long time -- 15+ years.  Do you know Yo Yo Ma, the cellist?  Shortly after attending a concert I created a character in Everquest that I named Ruruma.  It got quite a few laughs, surprisingly, and guildies started calling me Ruru.  Later during a business trip to Japan one of my hosts was struggling with my name, Warren, because of the R sound.  He started calling me Wawa instead :D.  Steam came along a couple years later and I landed on Ruruwawa pretty much at random.

So nothing deeply meaningful.  More of a monument to my laziness in picking a good Steam handle.

2 hours ago, Ruruwawa said:

So nothing deeply meaningful.  More of a monument to my laziness in picking a good Steam handle.

I am sure its a lot more deeply meaningful then handles of most people. And quite a story at that too, Same as @Carbon, I wondered where your nickname came from. :D Also find the backstories of nicknames very interesting - great topic idea!

So, mine, its nothing special.