Help finding a map? Tired of being lost.

BZant

Im very new to this game. Only watched a few wintermute episodes on yt and decided to stop and remain spoiler free as i wanted to buy and play it myself. So far,  been having a great time. I just have no idea where im going most of the time. Ive found plenty of notes mentioning areas for loot, and certain areas mentioned by a npc. And yet i cant find these areas. Can anyone pin point where i can find a map? I glimpsed a walk through on yt where i am so far and the person had a map. And i dont. And this is making it difficult finding places i want to search. Like the gas station. Ive looked all over and cant seem to find it. Any help is appreciated. Please try to remain spoiler free if possible. And if this has been asked before im sorry in advance. I did search map through the forums and didnt see any posts on where to find one. 

4 minutes ago, stapeliad said:

there is a map in your radial menu, select the navigation star.

..well i dont want to sound dumb, but i literally tried this yesterday and it said i didnt have a map. And it was greyed out. But yes. I just checked and now i do have one. I dont understand. When do you get this map? I just started talking to an npc and did 2 quests today. Is this why? Never mentioned i received one. Thanks for letting me know though. Much appreciated. 

3 minutes ago, BZant said:

..well i dont want to sound dumb, but i literally tried this yesterday and it said i didnt have a map. And it was greyed out. But yes. I just checked and now i do have one. I dont understand. When do you get this map? I just started talking to an npc and did 2 quests today. Is this why? Never mentioned i received one. Thanks for letting me know though. Much appreciated. 

I never pinpointed the time when the map appeared....Grey Mother must trigger it if you didn't have one in the beginning.