BLADES: Because they can't run out of ammo or "die" during the Anomaly!

Hello Everyone!

I've been getting more and more involved with my games recently, and that includes this one's forums here, so I thought I'd put a question out there!

TWO PARTS, answer one or both:

1. Within the context of the TLD's game world, if you could only carry one knife, what type, size, blade type, material, and finish would you want it to be?

2. NOT within TLD, what are your favorite knives, and why? What, if anything, draws you to bladed weapons like I am?

Have fun!

Thanks - T

I don't know too much about knives, and I am sure you would want something that offered a lot of utility over a single purpose, I am also pretty sure something like a sword would be a bit ridiculous.

I used to carry a generic folding pocket knife when I was in the army, or a gerber multi tool. I can't currently carry a knife where I work now so I usually don't carry one at all.

I am by no means an expert, but I'd definitely want two things in a survival knife: versatility, and durability.

First off, I don't need anything small enough to be concealed in a boot. I'm not trying to sneak a weapon past security, I'm trying to survive. I want something fairly large, but I agree with @LoganG in that a sword would be ridiculous. A sword is really useful only for killing. Maybe you could lop down low branches with it.

Second, I don't want a folding knife, or a switchblade, or one with a hollow hilt for storing matches and such, or anything other than what is essentially a blade with a handle.

A knife's strength comes from it's tang, which is in the hilt. You sacrifice the tang by making it a folding knife or some such thing, you sacrifice a lot of the blade's strength. You break your knife, which is arguably the single most important tool you have, you're going to have a much harder time of surviving.